Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT
Institute for Nuclear Physics (IKP)

Campus North

Address:
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Institute for Nuclear Physics
Hermann-von-Helmholtz-Platz 1
76344 Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen

Postal address:
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Institute for Nuclear Physics
Campus Nord, Geb. 401
Postfach 3640
D - 76021 Karlsruhe

Secretary's Office:
Anna Friedrich
Phone: +49/721/608-23546
Fax: +49/721/608-23548

------------------------------

Email

www.ikp.kit.edu

Directions

Past-projects at IKP

The Institute for Nuclear Physics is engaged in fundamental research in the fields of particle and astroparticle physics in cooperation with international research institutions. Here is a list of past experiments that have been completed:

 

KASCADE

KASCADE

KASCADE-Grande (KArlsruhe Shower Core and Array DEtector-Grande) was an extensive air shower experiment array to study the cosmic ray primary composition and the hadronic interactions in the energy range E0=1016-1018eV. 

It was situated on site of KIT-Campus North, the former Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe, and measured simultaneously the electromagnetic, muonic and hadronic componenets of extensive air showers of cosmic rays.   

As an extension of the former KASCADE experiment running successfully since 1996, it aquired data in the years between 2003 and 2009.

Since 2012 the KASCADE data are provided for the public through the KASCADE Cosmic Ray Data Centre (KCDC).

Neutrino-Experiment KARMEN

karmen

The German British experiment KARMEN (Karlsruhe Rutherford Mittel-Energie Neutrino) at the Rutherford Laboratory near Oxford, performed with a leading contribution from Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe, came to an end on July 20th 2001.

KARMEN investigated the nature of neutrinos and focussed on two research subjects: The investigation of neutrino-nucleus interactions and the search for neutrino oscillations.

For that purpose, KARMEN used an intensive source of neutrinos provided by the ISIS neutron spallation source. Neutrinos were detected in a 56t segmented scintillation calorimeter which was surrounded by 7000t of steel.

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT
Institut für Kernphysik (IKP)

Campus Nord

Anschrift:
Institut für Kernphysik
Karlsruher Institut für Technologie
Hermann-von-Helmholtz-Platz 1
76344 Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen

Postanschrift:
Institut für Kernphysik
Karlsruher Institut für Technologie
Postfach 3640
D - 76021 Karlsruhe

Sekretariat:
Anna Friedrich
Telefon: +49/721/608-23546
Telefax: +49/721/608-23548

------------------------------

E-Mail

www.ikp.kit.edu

Anfahrt

Abgeschlossene Projekte am IKP

Das Institut für Kernphysik betreibt experimentelle Grundlagenforschung auf den Gebieten der Teilchen- und Astroteilchenphysik in Zusammenarbeit mit internationalen Forschungseinrichtungen. Folgende bereits abgeschlossene Experimente wurden in der Vergangenheit durchgeführt:

 

KASCADE

KASCADE

KASCADE-Grande (KArlsruhe Shower Core and Array DEtector-Grande) war ein ausgedehntes Luftschauerexperiment zur Untersuchung der primären Zusammensetzung der kosmischen Strahlung und der hadronischen Wechselwirkung im Energiebereich E0=1016-1018eV. 

Das Experiment befand sich auf dem Gelände des KIT-Campus Nord, dem ehemaligen Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe, und untersuchte gleichzeitig die elektromagnetische, myonische und hadronische Komponente in ausgedehnten Luftschauern der kosmischen Strahlung.

KASCADE-Grande ist die Erweiterung des ursprünglichen, 1996 gestarteten KASCADE-Experiments und lieferte Daten in den Jahren von 2003 bis 2009.

Seit 2012 werden die KASCADE-Daten über das ‚KASCADE Cosmic Ray Data Center‘ (KCDC) einer breiten Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht.

 

Neutrino-Experiment KARMEN

karmen

Am 20. Juli 2001 ging das unter Federführung des Forschungszentrums Karlsruhe durchgeführte deutsch-britische KARMEN-Experiment (KArlsruhe Rutherford Mittel-Energie Neutrino) am Rutherford- Labor nahe Oxford zu Ende.

Das internationale Experiment erforschte die Eigenschaften von Neutrinos. Das KARMEN-Experiment wurde von zwei Forschungsschwerpunkten geprägt: der Frage nach der Wechselwirkung von Neutrinos mit Atomkernen sowie der Suche nach Neutrino-Oszillationen.

Zur Messung benutzten die Wissenschaftler einen an der Spallationsneutronenquelle ISIS erzeugten intensiven Neutrinostrahl. Als Nachweismedium diente ein 56 Tonnen schwerer Mineralöltank, abgeschirmt mit 7000 t Stahl.